Stay Connected:

NFL Draft History, Results & Order

The NFL Draft has been taking place since 1936, when Jay Berwanger was the top pick in the draft by Philadelphia Eagles. The draft normally takes place in late April and since 1965 it has been held in New York City. The order of the draft is based on the record of teams from the previous year with the worst teams having the top picks of each round down to the participants in the Super Bowl having the last picks. The current draft format has 7 rounds spread over 2 days, but it previously had as many as 20-30 rounds. Once a player is drafted his rights belong to the team that drafted him for the year, and if he does not sign then he can re-enter the pro football draft the following year (it is rare for a player not to sign with the team that drafted him). All players not drafted are then free to sign with any team.
Top Pick of NFL Draft by Year
Year Player Position College Drafted By
2016   Jameis Winston QB   Florida St.   Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2015   Jameis Winston QB   Florida St.   Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2014   Jadeveon Clowney LB   South Carolina   Houston Texans
2013   Eric Fisher OL   Central Michigan   Kansas City Chiefs
2012   Andrew Luck QB   Stanford   Indianapolis Colts
2011   Cam Newton QB   Auburn   Carolina Panthers
2010   Sam Bradford QB   Oklahoma   St. Louis Rams
2009   Matthew Stafford QB   Georgia   Detroit Lions
2008   Jake Long OL   Michigan   Miami Dolphins
2007   JaMarcus Russell QB   Louisiana State   Oakland Raiders
2006   Mario Williams DL   North Carolina State   Houston Texans
2005   Alex Smith QB   Utah   San Francisco 49ers
2004   Eli Manning QB   Mississippi   San Diego Chargers
2003   Carson Palmer QB   USC   Cincinnati Bengals
2002   David Carr QB   Fresno State   Houston Texans
2001   Michael Vick QB   Virginia Tech   Atlanta Falcons
2000   Courtney Brown DL   Penn State   Cleveland Browns
1999   Tim Couch QB   Kentucky   Cleveland Browns
1998   Peyton Manning QB   Tennessee   Indianapolis Colts
1997   Orlando Pace OL   Ohio State   St. Louis Rams
1996   Keyshawn Johnson WR   USC   New York Jets
1995   Ki-Jana Carter RB   Penn State   Cincinnati Bengals
1994   Dan Wilkinson DL   Ohio State   Cincinnati Bengals
1993   Drew Bledsoe QB   Washington State   New England Patriots
1992   Steve Emtman DL   Washington   Indianapolis Colts
1991   Russell Maryland DL   Miami (Fla.)   Dallas Cowboys
1990   Jeff George QB   Illinois   Indianapolis Colts
1989   Troy Aikman QB   UCLA   Dallas Cowboys
1988   Aundray Bruce TE   Auburn   Atlanta Falcons
1987   Vinny Testaverde QB   Miami (Fla.)   Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1986   Bo Jackson RB   Auburn   Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1985   Bruce Smith DL   Virginia Tech   Buffalo Bills
1984   Irving Fryar WR   Nebraska   New England Patriots
1983   John Elway QB   Stanford   Baltimore Colts
1982   Kenneth Sims DL   Texas   New England Patriots
1981   George Rogers RB   South Carolina   New Orleans Saints
1980   Billy Sims RB   Oklahoma   Detroit Lions
1979   Tom Cousineau LB   Ohio State   Buffalo Bills
1978   Earl Campbell RB   Texas   Houston Oilers
1977   Ricky Bell RB   USC   Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1976   Lee Roy Selmon   Oklahoma   Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1975   Steve Bartkowski QB   California   Atlanta Falcons
1974   Too Tall Jones DL   Tennessee State   Dallas Cowboys
1973   John Matuszak DL   Tampa   Houston Oilers
1972   Walt Patulski DL   Notre Dame   Buffalo Bills
1971   Jim Plunkett QB   Stanford   New England Patriots
1970   Terry Bradshaw QB   Louisiana Tech   Pittsburgh Steelers
1969   O.J. Simpson RB   USC   Buffalo Bills
1968   Ron Yary OL   USC   Minnesota Vikings
1967   Bubba Smith DL   Michigan State   Baltimore Colts
1966   Tommy Nobis LB   Texas   Atlanta Falcons
1965   Tucker Frederickson RB   Auburn   New York Giants
1964   Dave Parks WR   Texas Tech   San Francisco 49ers
1963   Terry Baker RB   Oregon State   Los Angeles Rams
1962   Ernie Davis   Syracuse   Washington Redskins
1961   Tommy Mason RB   Tulane   Minnesota Vikings
1959   Randy Duncan QB   Iowa   Green Bay Packers
1958   King Hill QB   Rice   Chicago Cardinals
1957   Paul Hornung QB   Notre Dame   Green Bay Packers
1956   Gary Glick RB   Colorado State   Pittsburgh Steelers
1955   George Shaw QB   Oregon   Baltimore Colts
1954   Bobby Garrett QB   Stanford   Cleveland Browns
1953   Harry Babcock DL   Georgia   San Francisco 49ers
1952   Billy Wade QB   Vanderbilt   Los Angeles Rams
1951   Kyle Rote DL   Southern Methodist   New York Giants
1950   Leon Hart DL   Notre Dame   Detroit Lions
1949   Chuck Bednarik OL   Pennsylvania   Philadelphia Eagles
1948   Harry Gilmer DB   Alabama   Washington Redskins
1947   Bob Fenimore DB   Oklahoma State   Chicago Bears
1946   Boley Dancewicz DB   Notre Dame   Boston Yanks
1945   Charlie Trippi RB   Georgia   Chicago Cardinals
1944   Angelo Bertelli QB   Notre Dame   Boston Yanks
1943   Frankie Sinkwich DB   Georgia   Detroit Lions
1942   Bill Dudley DB   Virginia   Pittsburgh Steelers
1941   Tommy Harmon RB   Michigan   Chicago Bears
1940   George Cafego DB   Tennessee   Chicago Cardinals
1939   Ki Aldrich OL   Texas Christian   Chicago Cardinals
1938   Corby Davis RB   Indiana   Cleveland Rams
1937   Sam Francis DB   Nebraska   Philadelphia Eagles
1936   Jay Berwanger RB   Chicago   Philadelphia Eagles
Welcome to Fantasy Football Challenge.
Get free fantasy football advice, cheatsheets, stats, and more.
Copyright © 2017 All Rights Reserved This website, it's parent company or any subsidiaries are NOT endorsed by, and do not imply endorsement from, the NFL, the NFL Player's Association (Players, Inc.), any NFL Team, or any NFL player.